С Днём Победы! Looking back at Victory Day, 2011 (St. Petersburg)…..

Today is Victory Day in Russia, a day also celebrated in some of the other post-Soviet states.  One year ago today, I was in Petersburg, surrounded by Russians at the Victory Day afternoon parade.  I took a lot of photos that day and wanted to share some of the ones that were not in my first post one year ago (https://lifeinrussia.wordpress.com/2011/05/09/victory-day-may-9th-2011-st-petersburg-russia/).

For those of you who are not familiar with this day, it is a day which commemorates the surrender of Nazi Germany to the Soviet Union during the Great Patriotic War (what we know as WWII).  For other European countries, it is known as Victory in Europe Day and celebrated on the 8th of May.  For the United States, our final day of the war came later when Japan surrendered in August, 1945.

С Днём Победы, Россия! Один год назад в Питере…..

Veterans being photographed outside the Winter Palace.

reflection of Church on Spilled Blood, early morning.

the little boy on dad’s shoulders.

waiting for the parade to start…..

Veteran marching in the parade.

parading down Nevsky Prospekt.

balloons and carnations.

parading down Nevsky Prospekt…..

the Babushka in the turquoise coat.

parading down Nevsky Prospekt…..

flowers in hand.

a well decorated Veteran.

Camaraderie (before the hug – see first post).

parading down Nevsky Prospekt.

waving to the crowd (I seriously dig her sunglasses).

two serious women.

lots of happy waving.

best braided hair ever!

everything about the woman in this photo just makes me smile…..

waving to the crowds…..

lots of smiles.

the little boy with the flag.

С Днём Победы!

10 thoughts on “С Днём Победы! Looking back at Victory Day, 2011 (St. Petersburg)…..

  1. Zdrastvuite!

    I was thinking how well can you communicate with Russian with an ordinary vocabulary which includes introducing yourself, shopping-vocabulary, asking help on a street etc ?. What kind of vocabulary is needed so that your Russian is good enough for the local ones and how long does it take until you speak without an accent?

    Thanks beforehand!

    • Hello! I mean privet 🙂 I lived in Russia for one year. Had I tried harder to speak my first semester and not be so afraid of making mistakes, I’m sure I would have had a good accent within 6 months and been speaking on the level I needed to. But, I was shy at first. So, I spent all summer listening to Russian music, pushing myself to speak – even if it sounded silly – and watching films in Russian. By the fall, I was doing much better and by the end of my year, a waitress in Kiev told me I spoke with a good accent, unlike other foreigners she had spoken with. Since my return home, I’ve lost most of what I achieved with the language, but it gives me time to focus on vocabulary. Fortunately, there are plenty of free online web guides to Russian and I highly recommend a small travelers pocket dictionary to keep with you at all times. Here is one website I learned of from a Russian classmate: http://www.openculture.com/freelanguagelessons

      • Thank you so much for the advice and sorry for a really long reply. I just logged in after having at least a half year pause, and now I hope I am going to be more active.

  2. Hi Lindsay, i’ve seen your blog and I find it quiet interesting. Thanks to you I found out about the IMARES program at EUSP and I gotta say I’m really attracted and I’m thinking in applying for next term. I’d love if you could tell me more about your experience in Russia both academically and personally speaking. What was the academic level of the program? How did you feel living in St. Petesburg? I’ve heard that there’ve been some bad incidents. If you could email me, that would be great too.
    I’d really appreaciate your help. Please! =)

    Have a wonderful day

  3. Thanks for the photos, very nice. I’ll be visiting Petersburg in November for October Revolution Day and probably visiting Belarus where my grandparents came from. Thinking of retiring early in 5 to 7 years, moving to Petersburg and Tunis and teaching English and translating there.

  4. As I remember, when I was studying history subject in my college life then I had read about this day. But I had no idea that this day has been celebrated in Saint Petersburg on such huge and royal scale.

    I always love to visit historical places and I have visited some of the cities in Russia. Now I will definitely plan a trip to Saint Petersburg to celebrate the Victory Day event.

    I have already collected some information about the city from various travel guidance site and I also have collected some information about other festivals celebrated in Saint Petersburg from the link below.

    http://www.joguru.com/saint-petersburg-russia/

    Thanks for posting the article and royal pics of the festivals.

Leave a Reply

