the art center in Piter…..

I recently stumbled upon this little art center, not far from my university.  When I noticed it first, I did not have my camera with me, so I made my way back down to the center one dreary Saturday and allowed myself to absorb the therapeutic color surrounding me.  There was even a German couple having wedding pictures taken in the “art” courtyard.  Being that this center is still a work in progress, it will be really interesting to see how it evolves over the next year and beyond – will the entire courtyard eventually become a mosaic wonderland, and what I really want to know is, why do they not do something like this in a local park?  Imagine how stellar it would be to go to Tavricheskiy Sad and see mosaic benches and art everywhere.  Anyhow, here are some of the photos I took along the way…..

4 thoughts on “the art center in Piter…..

  1. Absolutely beautiful – I also wish that more city councils / local governments would allow artists to beautify areas, especially in the CBD, in much the same way. It is a really great find, thank you for sharing!

  2. What a fantastic find and thank you for the wonderful photos! I love mosaics! And i agree with your and Pushkin’s ideas…wouldn’t it be wonderful if local governments sponsored art students and implemented programs to beautify public areas!

Leave a Reply

