Piskaryevskoye Memorial Cemetery visit…..

Although I have mentioned the Siege of Leningrad in previous posts, this post will serve as a small reminder for those of you who followed my Victory Day synopsis.  Those of you who have not read my post on Victory Day, please do!  On Sunday I visited the memorial sight where almost 500,000 people are buried, all of whom perished during the Leningrad Blockade.  As you enter the memorial, there is an eternal flame burning and the Leningrad Symphony playing throughout the entire site.  These are some of the photographs I captured and I would highly recommend anyone living here in Petersburg to take the opportunity to visit this memorial if you have not done so already.  On a side note, while I was there I saw black swans for the first time ever 🙂  For more information on the Siege of Leningrad, here is a Wikipedia link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Leningrad

The Eternal Flame looking out over the park.

Mother Russia monument.

Black Swans in the memorial pond.

Piece of Candy left at a Memorial stone.

Soviet style apartment buildings on the way to the Memorial.

13 thoughts on “Piskaryevskoye Memorial Cemetery visit…..

  1. I found your blog on freshly pressed, and I am so happy I did! I am part Russian and have always wanted to travel there, especially to St. Petersburg after reading The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons. If you’ve never read it, I HIGHLY recommend it – it’s my favorite book ever, and it really helps you to understand the siege of Leningrad on a more personal level. I’ve already subscribed to your blog and can’t wait for more posts! Your pictures are stunning!

  2. Oh jeez, you do know that in Russia it’s considered bad luck to take pictures of the graves. I mean not everyone knows that. When I lived there my family had pictures of dead relatives in the coffins. Yeah, those pics went into trash once I got there. I mean legacy or no legacy leave the dead where they belong. You are lucky to be living in St. Pete though!

  3. I know it is very simple, but I am feeling very homesick today….. the past few days have been very gray and so my pictures are also, but taking the time to share them with you all on my blog helps to lift my spirits somewhat and I am hopeful for the beautiful spring days that lie ahead…..

  4. The siege of Leningrad was brutal.

    I was hitchhiking in Wyoming (USA) a year ago and a lady and her son gave me a ride. She was originally from St. Petersburg.

  5. […] Thanks from Bangladesh Although I have mentioned the Siege of Leningrad in previous posts, this post will serve as a small reminder for those of you who followed my Victory Day synopsis.  Those of you who have not read my post on Victory Day, please do!  On Sunday I visited the memorial sight where almost 500,000 people are buried, all of whom perished during the Leningrad Blockade.  As you enter the memorial, there is an eternal flame burning and the Leningrad Symphon … Read More […]

  6. GREAT REVIEW! I totally agree with all your thoughts you said in your post, especially at the middle of your article. Thank you, your post is very valuable as always. Keep up the good work! You’ve got +1 more reader of your web blog:) Isabella S.

  7. Wonderful post! My boyfriend is from SPB and now living in the States. His mother told me of her experience of the blockade as a child and how her grandmother passed away due to starvation. It was very hard not to cry listening to her story of survival.

    Great blog – Thanks!

Leave a Reply

