you can dance if you want to…..

Today I feel I must dedicate one post to the strong Russian spirit and their desire to celebrate life.  Maybe it is because it is summertime here and people can easily find a reason to shrug off the burdens of the long winter months and enjoy every moment of their warm season.  Or perhaps it is because they are not quite so bound by modern conveniences as we sometimes find ourselves in the Western world.  As a dear friend of mine said recently, “this is what I love about Russia – every day is like a holiday and a reason to celebrate!”  Whether it means baking in a public park under the intense northern sun in bra, underwear or speedo, taking pictures like supermodels in front of every statue that can possibly exist in this city or in the palace parks, or dancing to music in the middle of the afternoon because you happen to walk by and hear it playing, their is something magical about the people here.  I really wanted to dedicate one entire post to this adorable woman dancing on Elagin Ostrov – I don’t know if it was her adorable red dress, her pink socks, or her smiling mouth full of metal teeth, but she made me feel so happy with her dancing!  YOOORRRAAA Babushka!  You can dance if you want to 🙂

Yura!

14 thoughts on “you can dance if you want to…..

  1. Lindsay, I know I have said it before that God has given you such an amazing eye to see His world, people, nature and the unexpected! You see beauty where I would see chaos. I love it that your photography doesn’t always need posing or perfection. I so often feel as though I am there with you and to me that is an amazing gift. Thank you..thank you…thank you!

  2. Love this! Beautiful photos that really capture the way that you described her with words. But photographs tell us so much more than words….I can see her wonderful spirit shine through.<3

  3. I have always been fascinated with Russia and everything that can and is connected to Her. Browsing through your blog has given me glimpses at the beauty that the old Soviet had and has passed on to the present day region. I hope to be able to go there and see for myself what your pictures have shown me. Thanks for sharing these nuggets of wonder to the world.

  4. […] hi Today I feel I must dedicate one post to the strong Russian spirit and their desire to celebrate life.  Maybe it is because it is summertime here and people can easily find a reason to shrug off the burdens of the long winter months and enjoy every moment of their warm season.  Or perhaps it is because they are not quite so bound by modern conveniences as we sometimes find ourselves in the Western world.  As a dear friend of mine said recently, " … Read More […]

  5. Thanks for the fantastic blog post and it is nice to see such a postive blog that offers so much value so thank you for that.

  6. I like this post, but one thing to say about. I’m feel sad when i see this woman dancing alone. I don’t know why but that’s becomes to me when i see this photos.
    see you!! and a lovely blog.

    • It’s understandable to feel sad by someone dancing alone….. However, in the case of this woman, I will say that she danced with her lady friends at other points, but during this particular song, she didn’t want to be bothered by other people (in fact, someone tried to dance with her at one point, but she was oblivious). It was like she was living a previous part of her life through that dance 🙂

Leave a Reply

