the long walk.

This past weekend, I went for a long walk.  My goal was to walk by the Mariinsky Theatre, but I did not make it there because I went a bit further than I had anticipated and I needed to find my way back to a recognizable street.  These are some of the photos I took along the way.  The more industrial looking photos are from the end of town I found myself lost in.  It was at that point that I decided I should try to find my way back uptown.  As you can see, it was not the most attractive neighborhood!  I think I will take the metro to Mariinsky next time.

Americans are not the only ones who love McDonalds.

Gostinyy Dvor (Гостиный Двор)

This is where I think I made a wrong turn.

Window details.

Winter can be very depressing here - I think this photo really emphasizes that reality.

A little bit of color.

Industrial.

I finally know where I am at this point.

8 thoughts on “the long walk.

  1. Russia’s beauty always has an edge of bleakness to it. It seems to take on the shading of a people used to and resigned to hardship. From Czar to Soviet Commissar to Authoritarian President, they have always had to live and thrive under difficulties the rest of the West would be hard-pressed to endure.

    Great pics. Thanks for sharing.

    • Well said and thank you – I am glad you enjoy the photos. I am currently studying Russian/Eurasian studies here at a University and I will be here for one year, absorbing knowledge, researching and of course, photographing wherever I go (once my visa extension arrives, that is 🙂

  2. The building with the primary colors really stands out Lindsay. Awesome photos – what kind of lens were you using? Glad you found your way back. The industrial photos are important too. Loved all of them on your journey.

    • Thank you Eileen 🙂 If you ever feel like e-mailing me some of your recent photos, I would love to see them – it would be like receiving a piece of home 🙂 It is such a different world here, but I have only begun to touch the periphery of it – there are still many months to go and later this month, I will go to Vyborg for a day!

  3. I know it is very simple, but I am feeling very homesick today….. the past few days have been very gray and so my pictures are also, but taking the time to share them with you all on my blog helps to lift my spirits somewhat and I am hopeful for the beautiful spring days that lie ahead…..

  4. ou made various good points there. I did a search on the issue and found a good number of people will agree with your blog.

    • I am too. 🙂 I’m from Serbia and most of the people here are also fascinated by the russians.
      They are our Orthodox brothers. I know Serbian Cyrillic of course 😀 but I also want to learn Russian.

Leave a Reply

