the approaching thaw…..

The past two weeks has been bitterly cold in St. Petersburg, reaching temperatures as low as -26 Celsius.  I took these photos at the beginning of the “freeze” because I remember being so excited to see the sun and blue sky again.  My enthusiasm was quickly replaced with a desire to not have my face and eyelashes freeze every time I stepped into the open cold air!  Today, however, my thermometer reached as high as -10 Celsius and so I must celebrate and take a break from reading about Bridal Kidnapping in Kyrgyzstan, the Opium economy and Warlords in Tajikistan and Afghanistan (Central Asian Politics and Society course).  Cheers everyone!  Wherever you are, I hope you are enjoying a beautiful week and month 🙂

looking up at the Winter Palace.

along the Fontanka.

skeleton of a tree.

school bus.

16 thoughts on “the approaching thaw…..

    • I’m sorry – I think I should clarify that… The Warlord article was primary regarding Tajikistan. But I think there was a little bit of information about Warlords in one of the other articles I had to read about state building in Afghanistan and that article was by Jonathan Goodhand (International Affairs). The Tajikistan article was Central Asian Survey. Do you want me to send them to you? They are just scanned PDF’s…..

      • If it isn’t an inconvenience for you, I would appreciate anything related to Afghanistan. I’m especially interested to see if the perspective is different from that side of the world.

  1. Your mind is being streched Lindsay – very interesting share on 2/24. The photos are awesome. I never heard of frozen eyelashes – only in Russia!!!

    • Thanks Eileen 🙂 I did not realize I had not yet responded to your comment here – my apologies! Yes, my mind is being stretched and I think it is a good thing – although not always easy….. I’m so glad you like the photos – I will be posting more today 🙂 I do not ever recall having my eyelashes freeze until living here!

  2. I know it is very simple, but I am feeling very homesick today….. the past few days have been very gray and so my pictures are also, but taking the time to share them with you all on my blog helps to lift my spirits somewhat and I am hopeful for the beautiful spring days that lie ahead…..

  3. I admire the beneficial tips you offer in your posts. I will bookmark your site and have my children check up here often. I am quite sure they will learn lots of new stuff here than anybody else!

      • I have not studied there but have traveled there extensively lately as my BF is from there. We live in Boston now. I was curious what kind of international schools are in SPB. We were there for almost one month in June and the white nights were beautiful. Seeing the photos on your blog makes me miss it so much!

      • Yes – White Nights are lovely and the winter makes you realize you can get through anything 🙂 Where in Russia did you travel to? If you have graduated from your undergrad already and are looking into Master’s programs, I highly recommend EUSP – it is good for Political Science and history, yet taught in English through the IMARES and MARCA programs, plus you can study Russian language as well. I have loved the program and living here and hope to find work here in the future 🙂

      • We were in SPB mostly at his parents apartment near Проспект Ветеранов. They have a dacha out of the city near Выборг and I LOVE it there! I keep saying they need to adopt me for a summer so I can go there and help them run the garden. 🙂 He also has a friend in Siberia that wants us to come visit. I think its a 6 hour plane ride away from SPB.

        I do have an undergrad degree in International Relations, specializing in Eastern Europe. I am taking Russian language courses currently at Harvard (not in a program just extra) – and just had my first oral mid-term today – OY! So stressful! But I’m doing well 🙂 I would love to study in SPB one day so I’ll look into the program. Thank you!

        Are you on VKontakte? If you want to connect on there, feel free to email me and I can give you my real name on there 🙂 femme13@gmail.com I have lots of picks of our recent mushroom hunting in the States and some photos from our Russian trips.

      • I have looked into the MA program you suggested and am really considering it. I would love to ask you more questions about it.

      • That’s really cool! I would be more than happy to answer whatever questions you might have…. I was unable to find you on vkontakte or facebook though, so I will e-mail you instead!

      • Thanks! The email above is not the one I use on Vkontakte – its just easier for me to have a main email and and then another that’s ok to get more spam, etc. I will see if I can find you on Vkontakte, unless you email me first 🙂

Leave a Reply

