Суббота (Saturday)…..

Сегодня, я скучаю мой муж и собаке.  Сегодня, мне грустна раз так я делю мои фото с вами все.

Translation (although it may not be completely accurate):  Today, I miss my husband and dog.  Today, I feel sad and so I share my photos with you all.

I know it is very simple, but I am feeling very homesick today….. the past few days have been very gray and so my pictures are also, but taking the time to share them with you all on my blog helps to lift my spirits somewhat and I am hopeful for the beautiful spring days that lie ahead…..

Along the River Fontanka and River Moyka.

At the Peter and Paul Fortress Grounds.

Along the western half of the River Fontanka.

The Winter Palace along the River Neva.

At the Peter and Paul Fortress Grounds.

Beautiful chairs buried in snow at the Peter and Paul Fortress Grounds.

At the Peter and Paul Fortress Grounds.

8 thoughts on “Суббота (Saturday)…..

  1. Beautiful, Lindsay! Oh, I know the homesick feeling, especially when you’re in another culture! Hang in there. I found journaling to be a great outlet when I was in Costa Rica, though I’m sure taking photographs is as well. Your soul needs something to hang onto that is familiar….but enjoy the different things as well! 🙂
    Best of luck, God bless!

    • Thank You Naomi 🙂 I’ve been doing very well thus far (with not being too homesick), but today I kind of lost it while talking to Sean on Skype. I will get past it, I am sure. I just need to keep breathing and praying and reading the Word and I will be strengthened 🙂

  2. Wow, I’m so impressed with your Russian! It’s pretty good for an American 🙂 Where did you learn? I can’t imagine learning Russian. Learning English was hard for me, but Russian is 100 times harder. By the way, I admire the photos you post.

  3. I know it is very simple, but I am feeling very homesick today….. the past few days have been very gray and so my pictures are also, but taking the time to share them with you all on my blog helps to lift my spirits somewhat and I am hopeful for the beautiful spring days that lie ahead…..

  4. That is definitely very good site you’ve going here. The matter is extremely useful and also immediately to the level. Fired up to see more about your site the next occasion.

  5. great photos! How long have you been studying Russian? To be honest, I don`t know how it is possible to learn Russian unless it is your native language. So i have great respect for those who study it from scratch as adults.

    • technically, I began studying it before I moved there in 2011 (I knew a little vocabulary, but essentially had to relearn all grammar from scratch). I don’t practice/study as much as I should now, but my husband and I bought a dacha in Estonia this past June in a predominantly Russian community, so I should have lots of opportunity to practice it in the future. Russian grammar is the worst though! completely confusing to a native English speaker.

      • yeah. Russian grammar is tough. There are some sentences that are grammatically correct, but would never be used by a native speaker. Moreover, usually it is not possible to explain why.

Leave a Reply

